New Zealand Government


New Zealand Government

Political System

New Zealand is a stable democracy. National elections are held every three years under a mixed proportional system.

The Parliament

The most prominent of all Parliament buildings is called the "Beehive" and this is a Wellington landmark. Political debates in Parliament are often aired live on broadcast radio.

Legal System

New Zealand does not have a written constitution but inherits traditions from those of Great Britain. To avoid concentration of power, it is distributed between the legislature, the judiciary and the executive government departments. The Treaty of Waitangi, signed in 1840, is regarded by many New Zealanders as the pillar of New Zealand society.